Claudia and Hans Make Stuff

Healthy can be delicious. Please like, rate, and leave a comment!

Delicious & Easy Chickpea Curry

Leave a comment


So the semester has started…I am teaching four upper level division classes plus wanting to start a science outreach project at local high schools…oi…very busy.

I am supposed to be working on a review paper…but I am sitting in the train right now, commuting home from work and decided to write up a couple of recipes that we recently tried.

I love chickpeas…it’s a bit weird but I could eat them straight out of the can. So when I came across another chickpea recipe, of course I had to try it. I like the Curried Indian Chickpea recipe https://ourfunstuff.wordpress.com/2014/09/21/curried-indian-chickpeas/ that I blogged about earlier. However, this current recipe suggested very different spices to experiment with. I modified the recipe to our liking and here is what I made:

Ingredients (3-4 servings):
1 tablespoon ghee (if not at hand use another “fat”, such as olive oil or butter)
1 yellow onion, sliced
4 garlic cloves, minced
½ to ¾ teaspoon chili powder
½ to ¾ teaspoon salt
½ to ¾ teaspoon ground turmeric
½ to ¾ teaspoon paprika
½ tablespoon ground cumin
½ tablespoon ground coriander (as we thought we did not have any at home, we left this spice out, turned out we did have it…I will add it next time)
2 (14.5-ounce) can organic chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 (14.5-ounce) can organic chopped tomatoes
½ to ¾ teaspoon garam masala (available as powder at Whole Foods)

Preparation:
1. Heat the ghee in a medium pan. Add the onion and garlic. Cook, stirring occasionally, using medium heat until onion is soft. Add all of the spices (except garam masala) and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes, stirring constantly.

2. Stir in the chickpeas and tomatoes. Simmer over low-medium heat, covered for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. If you are planning on serving the dish with rice, start preparing the rice. Rice usually takes about 20 minutes to be made. We used Jasmine rice following the instruction on the package.

3. Stir in the garam masala and simmer, covered, for an additional 10 minutes.

4. Serve with rice and naan bread. Enjoy =)

 

Note: This dish stores well in an airtight container in the refrigerator and can easily be reheated in the microwave.

 

 

Curried Chickpeas_3_small

Costco sells really yummy naan bread

 

Adapted from a recipe book that I used to own but rarely ever used, since I thought that most of the recipes wouldn’t taste good to me.

Leave a Reply

