Claudia and Hans Make Stuff

Healthy can be delicious. Please like, rate, and leave a comment!

Buns so yummy, they don’t need a burger

Leave a comment


Homemade Veggieburger Buns (Makes 8ish buns)

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon active-dry yeast
1/2 cup warm water
1/2 cup milk (whole)
1 large egg
1 tablespoon applesauce (replacement for 1 tablespoon vegetable oil)
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon butter (Original recipe called for this to be melted and brushed on top of the buns before baking. Well I got ahead of myself and added it into the dough! Turned out great and found they didn’t need a topping)

Preparation:
1. I like to proof the yeast in my KitchenAid stand mixer and let it sit.

2. In a separate bowl, mix the milk, egg, oil, sugar, salt, and butter. Add this to the yeast mixture and stir until combined. Add all the flour and knead with dough hook at low speed until it gets nice and smooth.

I then coat the dough in olive oil and place it in a new bowl and use the bread proof function on my oven for an hour. A nice warm place will also work. Dough should at least double in size.

I then knead dough on the counter and break out my 30-year-old scale (likely not accurate but I can get them the same weight). Tonight’s buns weighed four ounces each and I ended up with 9 good medium-sized buns. I like to fold the balls of dough a little bit, turning them over in my fingers and putting air in the dough. Gather all the ends at the bottom and you can create a nice smooth top!

Form into a traditional “hamburger” bun shape and I let them rise again, about 30 minutes or to the desired size of bun.

3. Pre-heat the oven to 350°F.

I cook them for two, eight minute shifts and turn the cookie sheets around and swap shelves in the oven between shifts (so they bake evenly).

Your buns are done! Let them cool off and eat them soon. You can store them in an air tight container too, but they are so good they won’t last long. And your neighbors will love them…

Buns fresh out of the oven

Buns fresh out of the oven

Besides eating them plain, we really like to eat them with MorningStar Veggieburgers, cheese, kale leaves, (sliced tomatoes), and ketchup.

Assembled burger_option 1

Assembled burger_option 1

Assembled burger_option 2

Assembled burger_option 2

I found this recipe while searching for more bread recipes to try, and it is now one of our favorites. Original recipe is from Emma Christensen

Leave a Reply

